Stewart School Dedication Day

July 2nd was a special day for Stow Historical Society. Thanks to Committee Chair Bob Flower and his dedicated group of volunteers, as well as the many sponsors, Stewart School, was formally dedicated. A large crowd attended the 2:00 ceremony and also enjoyed an ice cream social, tours of the historic houses, and children’s activities.

Featured speakers for the Dedication ceremony included Catherine Flower, SHS President John Baranek, Lisa Susner, Linda Trevorrow, Stow Mayor Sara Kline, and Bob Flower. Invocation was by Pastor Jim Case and  Mistress of ceremonies was Annie Hanson. Thank you to Stow High School band members for providing patriotic music and to members of Boy Scout Troop 273 for the opening and closing flag ceremonies.  Ribbon cutters for the donor bricks were members of the fund raising committee, John Pribonic, Linda Trevorrow, and Kay Flower filling in for Steve Hailer. Ribbon cuttters for the schoolhouse were long-time Historical Society members Ed Williams and Marilyn Hunter,  representing her father, Houston Morgan. Special recognition goes to Richard Shilling, Ed Bose, and Ron Piatt, construction team members.

See more photos on our Facebook page at

schoolfrontresized schoolgroupresized schoolscoutresized schoolteacherdeskresized